Muscovy Duck Forum
April 19, 2024, 02:01:59 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the Muscovy Duck Central forum!

Home   Forum   Help Search Arcade Gallery Links Staff List Login Register  

Muscovies antisocial?

+-+-
+-User
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Muscovies antisocial?  (Read 276 times)
nancy

« on: October 18, 2009, 01:49:16 pm »

A neighbor told me that she doesn't like Muscovies because they keep all the native ducks away from the pond. She cited the short visits by the Hooded Mergansers early this year.

As I remember, the Mergansers and Lesser Scaups have always made only short occasional visits. Even before out little feral flock arrived.

I won't mind if they discourage the Canada Geese. They may be beautiful, but they sure are messy.
Report Spam   Logged

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Linda454

« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2009, 08:42:35 am »

Hi, I'm far from an expert on any of this...but I can tell you by my own experience about my Muscovy's & the local water fowl in my area. I live in south FL. on a lake. I have come to love the Muscovy's & have pretty much adopted 6 of them. We have Egrets, Ibis & Fl. Mottles ducks vist here & the Muscovy's have never chased or discouraged any of them from being here. I too, had an Uncle tell me that the Muscovy's chase away the other ducks & water fowl. I in turn sent him one of my hundreds, yes,hundreds, pictures of my male sitting & "watching over" the Mottled ducks as they ate from their feeding area in my yard. He seems so proud to watch them! LOL They are so funny & "argue" with each other constantly & my male, Crazy Boy, will stick his beak in between them & break up the carrying on's of them all the time! My females will walk right thru their feeding area to get into the yard & their food & water. So,I'm sure you can see that my opinion is a lot different than those that think the Muscovy are a nuisance. I came